Alice Coltrane: A Monastic Trio

In December 1968, “Impulse!” label released “A Monastic Trio”, the first Alice Coltrane album. It was recorded January – June 1968, at John Coltrane home studio in Dix Hills, New York, and was produced by Alice Coltrane. The album is a tribute to her husband, John Coltrane, who had died the year before.

Track listing:

  • Alice Coltrane – harp, piano
  • Pharoah Sanders — tenor saxophone, bass clarinet, flute
  • Jimmy Garrison — bass
  • Ben Riley — drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Alice Coltrane.

  1. Ohnedaruth
  2. Gospel Trane
  3. I Want to See You
  4. Lovely Sky Boat
  5. Oceanic Beloved
  6. Atomic Peace

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.