Bill Withers: Menagerie

In December 1977, “Columbia” label released “Menagerie”, the sixth Bill Withers studio album. It was recorded in 1977, at “The Record Plant” in Los Angeles, “A&R Recording” in New York City, and was produced by Bill Withers, Keni Burke, Clarence McDonald and Clifford Coulter.


  • Bill Withers – lead and backing vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Ray Parker Jr. – guitar
  • Clarence McDonald – keyboards, string arrangements, horn arrangements, arrangements
  • Dean Gant – keyboards
  • Clifford Coulter – keyboards, synthesizer solo
  • Mike Jones – synthesizers
  • Jerry Knight – bass
  • Keni Burke – bass
  • Russ Kunkel – drums, shaker
  • Alvin Taylor – drums
  • Ralph MacDonald – percussion
  • Paul Riser – horn arrangements, string arrangements
  • Charles Veal – concertmaster
  • Pat Hodges – backing vocals
  • Denita James – backing vocals
  • Jessica Smith – backing vocals
  • Phil Jantaas – assistant engineer
  • Roger Carpenter – design
  • Lou Beach – illustration
  • Elliot Gilbert – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Withers, except where noted.

  1. Lovely Day – Bill Withers, Skip Scarborough
  2. I Want to Spend the Night
  3. Lovely Night for Dancing
  4. Then You Smile at Me – Bill Withers, Clarence McDonald
  5. She Wants To (Get on Down) – Bill Withers, Larry Nash
  6. It Ain’t because of Me Baby – Bill Withers, Michael Jones
  7. Tender Things
  8. Wintertime – Cliff Coulter
  9. Let Me Be the One You Need – Bill Withers, Skip Scarborough

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.