Nada Surf: The Proximity Effect

On September 22, 1998, “Elektra” label released “The Proximity Effect”, the second Nada Surf studio album. It was recorded in 1998, at “Palindrome”, “Baby Monster Studios”, “Axis Studios”, “Electric Lady Studios”, “Avatar Studios”, “Ocean Way Recording”, “Shabbey Road Studios”, “Sony Music Studios” and “Room With A View” in New York City, and was produced by Fred Maher.


  • Matthew Caws – vocals, guitar
  • Daniel Lorca – vocals, bass
  • Ira Elliot – drums, backing vocals
  • Chris Fudurich – Wurlitzer piano, engineer
  • John Parthum, Lloyd Puckitt – engineer
  • Fred Maher – mixing
  • Jack-Joseph Puig – mixing
  • John Travis – mixing
  • Lloyd Puckitt – mixing
  • Bob Ludwig – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Matthew Caws, Daniel Lorca and Ira Elliot.

  1. Hyperspace
  2. Amateur
  3. 80 Windows
  4. Mother’s Day
  5. Troublemaker
  6. Bacardi
  7. Bad Best Friend
  8. Dispossession
  9. The Voices
  10. Firecracker
  11. Slow Down
  12. Robot
  13. Spooky
  14. Silent Fighting

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.