Okkervil River: The Silver Gymnasium

On September 3, 2013, “ATO” label released “The Silver Gymnasium”, the seventh Okkervil River album. It was recorded in 2013, at “Church House Studios”, “Russell Street Studio”, “Crystal Sniffer”, “The Honey Jar”, “Cacophony Recorders”, and “Matt Hubbard Production”, and was produced by John Agnello.


  • Will Sheff – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica, synthesizers, recording, artwork
  • Justin Sherburn – piano, electric piano, harpsichord, keyboards, glass harmonica, electric guitar, organ, synthesizers, harmonium 
  • Lauren Gurgiolo – electric and lap steel guitar
  • Clinton Newman – electric guitar
  • Michael St. Clair – electric guitar, organ, trombone, flugelhorn, trumpet, synthesizers, percussion
  • Brian Cassidy – electric guitar
  • Patrick Pestorius – bass
  • Jonathan Meiburg – banjo
  • Daniel Murphy – mandolin, artwork
  • Zachary Thomas – mandolin
  • Ben Kalb – cello
  • Josh Johnson – glass harmonica
  • Brian Donohoe – saxophone
  • Cully Symington – drums, percussion
  • Chris Mills, Clinton Newman, Jonathan Meiburg, Patrick Pestorius, Matt LeMay  – harmony vocals
  • David Boyle – handclaps, recording
  • John Agnello, John Congleton, Matt Hubbard, Phil Palazzolo – recording
  • John Agnello, John Congleton – mixing
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Vernon Hood – artwork
  • Fiske Boyd – artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Will Sheff.

  1. It Was My Season
  2. On a Balcony
  3. Down Down the Deep River
  4. Pink-slips
  5. Lido Pier Suicide Car
  6. Where the Spirit Left Us
  7. While
  8. Stay Young
  9. Walking Without Frankie
  10. All the Time Every Day
  11. Black Nemo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.