Jackie McLean: New Soil

In August 1959, “Blue Note” label released “New Soil”, the fifteen Jackie McLean album. It was recorded in May 1959, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Jackie McLean – alto saxophone
  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Walter Davis Jr. – piano
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Pete LaRoca – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Walter Davis Jr. except where noted.

  1. Hip Strut – Jackie McLean
  2. Minor Apprehension – Jackie McLean
  3. Greasy
  4. Sweet Cakes
  5. Davis Cup

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.