Skyhooks: Ego Is Not a Dirty Word

In July 1975, “Mushroom” label released “Ego Is Not a Dirty Word”, the second Skyhooks studio album. It was recorded January – May 1975, at “TCS Studios” in Melbourne, and was produced by Duke Wilson. In 1975, at the Australian “King of Pop Awards”, “Ego Is Not a Dirty Word”, was voted the “Most Popular Australian Album”.


  • Shirley Strachan – lead vocals
  • Red Symons – guitar, backing vocals
  • Bob “Bongo” Starkie – guitar, backing vocals
  • Greg Macainsh – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Imants Alfred Strauks – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Peter Jones – Fender Rhodes piano, marimba and vibes, chimes, boobams
  • Greg Sneddon – Arp synthesizer
  • Ross Wilson – Yamaha synthesiser, vocal harmonies
  • Andy Cowan – Mini Moog
  • Col Loughnan – tenor and baritone saxophones
  • Pat Wilson – finger cymbals
  • Ian Mason – harmony vocals
  • Jenny Keath – harmony vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Greg Macainsh, except where noted.

  1. Ego Is Not a Dirty Word
  2. Love on the Radio – Greg Macainsh, Steve Hill
  3. Saturday Night
  4. Love’s Not Good Enough
  5. The Other Side
  6. Smartarse Songwriters
  7. Mercedes Ladies
  8. All My Friends Are Getting Married
  9. Every Chase a Steeple – Red Symons

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.