The Tragically Hip: In Violet Light

On June 11, 2002, “Universal” label released “In Violet Light”, the eighth Tragically Hip (The) album. It was recorded 2001 – 2002, at “Compass Point” in Nassau, “The Bathouse” in Bath, Ontario, and was produced by Hugh Padgham, Mark Vreeken, Gord Downie, Paul Langlois, Rob Baker, Gord Sinclar and Johnny Fay. The album was certified Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”.


  • Gord Downie – violin
  • Paul Langlois – guitar
  • Rob Baker – guitar, design, cover painting
  • Gord Sinclair – bass
  • Johnny Fay – drums
  • Neil Symonette – percussion
  • Mark Vreeken – recording
  • Hugh Padgham – additional recording, engineer 
  • Terry Manning – engineer
  • Alex Dixon, Oswald Bowe, Aaron Holmberg, Dave Koster – engineer assistant
  • Hugh Padgham, Terry Manning – mixing
  • Bob Ludwig – mastering
  • Andrew McLachlan – design
  • Richard Beland – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gord Downie, Paul Langlois, Rob Baker, Gord Sinclar and Johnny Fay.

  1. Are You Ready
  2. Use It Up
  3. The Darkest One
  4. It’s a Good Life If You Don’t Weaken
  5. Silver Jet
  6. Throwing off Glass
  7. All Tore Up
  8. Leave
  9. A Beautiful Thing
  10. The Dire Wolf
  11. The Dark Canuck


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.