Art Blakey: Orgy in Rhythm

In May 1957, “Blue Note” label released “Orgy in Rhythm”, the second Art Blakey album. It was released as two LP’s (Volume One and Volume Two) the same year. It was recorded in March 1957, at “Manhattan Towers” in New York City, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Art Blakey – vocals, drums
  • Herbie Mann – flute
  • Ray Bryant – piano
  • Wendell Marshall – bass
  • Sabu Martinez – percussion, vocals
  • Ubaldo Nieto – percussion, timbales
  • Evilio Quintero – percussion, maracas, cencerro
  • Carlos “Patato” Valdes – percussion
  • Jo Jones – drums, tympani
  • Arthur Taylor – drums
  • Specs Wright – drums, tympani
  • Rudy Van Gelder – recording
  • Ira Gitler – liner notes
  • Harold Feinstein – design
  • Francis Wolff – cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Art Blakey.

Volume One

  1. Buhaina Chant
  2. Ya Ya
  3. Toffi
  4. Split Skins

Volume Two

  1. Amuck
  2. Elephant Walk
  3. Come Out and Meet Me Tonight
  4. Abdallah’s Delight

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.