In December 1961.

In December 1961, “Verve” label released “Gloomy Sunday and Other Bright Moments”, the 16th Bob Brookmeyer album. It was recorded in November 1961, and was produced by Creed Taylor.


  • Bob Brookmeyer – valve trombone, arranger
  • Bernie Glow, Joe Newman, Doc Severinsen, Clark Terry, Nick Travis – trumpet
  • Wayne Andre, Billy Byers, Bill Elton, Alan Raph – trombone
  • Wally Kane – bassoon
  • Eddie Caine – alto saxophone, flute
  • Phil Woods – alto saxophone, clarinet 
  • Gene Quill, Eddie Wasserman – alto saxophone
  • Phil Bodner – tenor saxophone, oboe, English horn
  • Al Cohn – tenor saxophone
  • Gene Allen – baritone saxophone, bass clarinet
  • Eddie Costa – vibraphone, percussion
  • Hank Jones – piano
  • George Duvivier – bass
  • Mel Lewis – drums
  • Ralph Burns, Al Cohn, Gary McFarland, Eddie Sauter – arranger

Track listing:

  1. Caravan – Juan Tizol, Duke Ellington, Irving Mills
  2. Why Are You Blue – Gary McFarland
  3. Some of My Best Friends – Al Cohn
  4. Gloomy Sunday – Rezső Seress
  5. Ho Hum – Bob Brookmeyer
  6. Detour Ahead – Herb Ellis, Johnny Frigo, Lou Carter
  7. Days Gone By; Oh My! – Gary McFarland
  8. Where, Oh Where – Cole Porter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.