In December 1959.

In December 1959, “Riverside” label released “Showcase”, the third Philly Joe Jones album. It was recorded in November 1959, in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Philly Joe Jones – drums, piano 
  • Blue Mitchell – trumpet 
  • Julian Priester – trombone 
  • Bill Barron – tenor saxophone 
  • Pepper Adams – baritone saxophone 
  • Dolo Coker, Sonny Clark – piano
  • Jimmy Garrison – bass 

Track listing:

All tracks by Philly Joe Jones except where noted.

  1. Battery Blues – Julian Priester
  2. Minor Mode – Bill Barron
  3. Gwen
  4. Joe’s Debut
  5. Gone – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  6. Joe’s Delight
  7. Julia – Julian Priester
  8. I’ll Never Be The Same – Gus Kahn, Matty Malneck, Frank Signorelli
  9. Interpretation – Bill Barron

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.