In December 1957.

In December 1957, “Blue Note” label released “Dial “S” for Sonny”, the debut Sonny Clark studio album. It was recorded in July 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Sonny Clark – piano
  • Art Farmer – trumpet
  • Curtis Fuller – trombone
  • Hank Mobley – tenor saxophone
  • Wilbur Ware – bass
  • Louis Hayes – drums
  • Reid Miles – design
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Francis Wolff – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Clark except where noted.

  1. Dial “S” for Sonny
  2. Bootin’ It
  3. It Could Happen to You – Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen
  4. Sonny’s Mood
  5. Shoutin’ on a Riff
  6. Love Walked In – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.