On October 26, 1967.

On October 26, 1967, “Blue Note” label released “Mustang!”, the 23rd Donald Byrd album. It was recorded November 1964 – June 1966, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • McCoy Tyner – piano
  • Sonny Red – alto saxophone
  • Hank Mobley – tenor saxophone
  • Jimmy Heath – tenor saxophone
  • Walter Booker – bass
  • Freddie Waits – drums
  • Joe Chambers – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Donald Byrd except where noted.

  1. Mustang – Sonny Red Kyner
  2. Fly Little Bird Fly
  3. I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good) – Duke Ellington, Paul Francis Webster
  4. Dixie Lee
  5. On the Trail – Ferde Grofé
  6. I’m So Excited by You

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.