On October 21, 2002.

On October 21, 2002, “ECM” label released “Lift Every Voice”, the 33rd Charles Lloyd album. It was recorded in February 2002, and was produced by Charles Lloyd, and Dorothy Darr.


  • Charles Lloyd – tenor saxophone, flute, tarogato
  • Geri Allen – piano
  • John Abercrombie – guitar
  • Marc Johnson – double bass
  • Larry Grenadier – double bass
  • Billy Hart – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Charles Lloyd, except where noted.

  1. Hymn to the Mother
  2. You Are So Beautiful – Bruce Fisher, Billy Preston
  3. Amazing Grace – John Newton
  4. East Virginia, West Memphis
  5. What’s Going On – Renaldo “Obie” Benson, Al Cleveland, Marvin Gaye
  6. Angel Oak
  7. Te Amaré – Silvio Rodríguez
  8. I’m Afraid – Duke Ellington
  9. Hafez, Shattered Heart
  10. Rabo de Nube – Silvio Rodríguez
  11. Blood Count – Billy Strayhorn
  12. Go Down Moses – traditional
  13. Beyond Darkness
  14. Nocturne
  15. Wayfaring Stranger – traditional
  16. Deep River – traditional
  17. Lift Every Voice and Sing – James Weldon Johnson, John Rosamond Johnson
  18. Prayer, The Crossing

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.