On September 3, 1955.

On September 3, 1955, “Verve” label released “The Lonely One…”, the tenth Bud Powell studio album. It was recorded January – April 1955, at “Fine Sound Studios” in New York and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Bud Powell– piano
  • George Duvivier– bass
  • Art Taylor– drums
  • Percy Heath– bass
  • Kenny Clarke– drums
  • Sheldon Marks – art director
  • Howard Morehead – cover photo

Track listing:

  1. Confirmation – Charlie Parker
  2. Star Eyes – Gene De Paul, Don Raye
  3. Lullaby in Rhythm – Clarence Profit, Edgar Sampson, Benny Goodman, Walter Hirsch
  4. Willow Weep for Me – Ann Ronnell
  5. Mediocre
  6. All the Things You Are – Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II
  7. Epistrophy – Thelonious Monk, Kenny Clarke
  8. Dance of the Infidels
  9. Salt Peanuts – Dizzy Gillespie, Kenny Clarke
  10. Hey George (Sweet Georgia Brown) – Maceo Pinkard, Kenneth Casey


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.