On August 27, 1996.

On August 26, 1996, “Griffin” label released “The Rock”, the sixth John Entwistle studio album. It was recorded 1985 – 1986, at “Hammerhead Studio” in Gloucestershire, England, and was produced by Martin Adam and The Rock.


  • John Entwistle– bass guitar; trumpet; trombone, post-production, cover design
  • Henry Small– lead and background vocals; trumpet; trombone
  • Gene Black – guitar
  • Devin Powers (Mark R. Adams) – guitar
  • Zak Starkey– drums
  • Adrian Cook – keyboards
  • Martin Adam – engineer
  • Bob Pridden– post-production
  • Jon Astley– mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Henry Small and Devin Powers, except where noted.

  1. Stranger in a Strange Land – Thomas Whitlock, Eddie Money, Henry Small
  2. Love Doesn’t Last – John Entwistle
  3. Suzie – Henry Small, Devin Powers, Davitt Sigerson
  4. Bridges Under the Water – John Entwistle
  5. Heartache
  6. Billy
  7. Life After Love – John Entwistle
  8. Hurricane
  9. Too Much Too Soon
  10. Last Song – John Entwistle
  11. Country Hurricane

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.