On June 18, 1973.

On June 18, 1973, “ABC – Dunhill” label released “The Smoker You Drink, the Player You Get”, the second Joe Walsh studio album. It was recorded 1972 – 1973 and was produced by Joe Walsh and Bill Szymczyk.


  • Joe Walsh– lead and backing vocals, guitars, keyboards, synthesizer
  • Kenny Passarelli– lead and backing vocals, bass, guitar
  • Joe Vitale– lead and backing, drums, percussion, piano, keyboards, flute
  • Rocke Grace – lead and backing vocals, keyboards
  • Joe Lala– percussion
  • Venetta Fields– backing vocals
  • Clydie King– backing vocals
  • Bill Szymczyk– engineering, mixing
  • Mike D. Stone– engineering
  • Ronnie Alpert – engineering
  • Al Blazek – engineering
  • Jimmy Wachtel– album design
  • Bob Jenkins– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Walsh, except where noted.

  1. Rocky Mountain Way – Joe Walsh, Joe Vitale, Kenny Passarelli, Rock Grace
  2. Book Ends – Joe Vitale
  3. Wolf
  4. Midnight Moodies – Rocke Grace
  5. Happy Ways – Kenny Passarelli, Bernard Zoloth
  6. Meadows
  7. Dreams
  8. Days Gone By – Joe Vitale
  9. Day Dream (Prayer)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.