On June 14, 2019.

On June 14, 2019, “Drag City” label released “Shepherd in a Sheepskin Vest”, the sixth Bill Callahan album (under his own name). It was recorded August 2018 – January 2019, at “Wonder Chamber” in Austin, Texas, and was produced by Bill Callahan.


  • Bill Callahan– vocals, acoustic guitar, Moog synthesizer, percussion, bowed psaltery, bowed banjo, harmonica, Wurlitzer electric piano, Casio SK-1, drum machine, mellotron, piano, kalimba, organ, bells
  • Brian Beattie – upright bass, acoustic bass, electric upright bass (4), percussion, piano, pump organ, Hammond organ, Moog synthesizer, mellotron, celesta, marimbula, bells
  • Matt Kinsey – acoustic guitar, percussion
  • Adam Jones – drumkit
  • Dony Wynn – drumkit
  • Gary Newcomb – lap steel guitar
  • Hanly Banks Callahan – backing vocals
  • Tori Olds – backing vocals
  • Brian Beattie – recording, mixing
  • JJ Golden – mastering
  • Joanna Skumanich – cover drawings
  • Dan Osborn – layout

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Callahan, except where noted.

  1. Shepherd’s Welcome
  2. Black Dog on the Beach
  3. Angela
  4. The Ballad of the Hulk
  5. Writing
  6. Morning is My Godmother
  7. 747
  8. Watch Me Get Married
  9. Young Icarus
  10. Released
  11. What Comes After Certainty
  12. Confederate Jasmine
  13. Call Me Anything
  14. Son of the Sea
  15. Camels
  16. Circles
  17. When We Let Go
  18. Lonesome Valley
  19. Tugboats and Tumbleweeds
  20. The Beast

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.