In June 1971.

In June 1971, “Warner Music” label released “It Ain’t Easy”, the fifth Long John Baldry album. It was recorded December 1970 – February 1971, at “Morgan Studios” and “IBC Studios” in London, and was produced by Elton John and Rod Stewart.


  • Long John Baldry – vocals, 12-string guitar
  • Maggie Bell– vocals
  • Elton John– organ, piano
  • Ron Wood– guitar, 12-string guitar
  • Alan Skidmore– tenor saxophone
  • Lesley Duncan, Tony Hazzard, Doris Troy, Tony Burrows, Kay Garner, Liza Strike – background vocals
  • Sam Mitchell – dobro, guitar, slide guitar
  • Caleb Quaye– guitar
  • Joshua M’Bopo – guitar
  • Ray Jackson– mandolin
  • Madelene Bell – tambourine
  • Ian Armitt – piano
  • Ricky Brown – bass guitar
  • Dave Glover – bass guitar
  • Mick Waller– drums
  • Roger Pope – drums
  • Lesley Duncan – chorus caster
  • Jimi Horowitz – executive producer
  • Ed Thrasher– art director
  • Judith Sims – liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Intro: Conditional Discharge – Long John Baldry, Ian Armitt
  2. Don’t Try to Lay No Boogie-Woogie on the King of Rock and Roll – Jeff Thomas
  3. Black Girl – traditional, Lead Belly
  4. It Ain’t Easy – Ron Davies
  5. Morning, Morning – Tuli Kupferberg
  6. I’m Ready – Willie Dixon
  7. Let’s Burn Down the Cornfield – Randy Newman
  8. Rubin – Lesley Duncan
  9. Rock Me When He’s Gone – Elton John, Bernie Taupin
  10. Flying – Ronnie Wood, Rod Stewart, Ronnie Lane

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.