Ben Harper: Both Sides of the Gun

On March 21, 2005, “Virgin” label released “Both Sides of the Gun”, the seventh Ben Harper album. It was recorded in 2004, at “The Boat Studios” in Silver Lake, California, and was produced by Ben Harper.


  • Ben Harper- vocals, slide guitar, acoustic and electric guitar, piano, Weissenborn, bass guitar, drums, percussion, vibes
  • Marc Ford- guitar
  • Jason Mozersky- guitar
  • Danny Kalb- guitar, engineer
  • Jan Ghazi- electric guitar, backing vocals
  • David Lindley- tambura
  • Greg Kurstin- Hammond B3
  • David Palmer- keys
  • Jason Yates – keys
  • Michael Ward- guitar, bass
  • Matt Cory- bass
  • William Gus Seyffert – bass
  • Jesse Ingulls – bass
  • Juan Nelson- bass
  • Nick Sandro- bass, backing vocals
  • Jose Medeles- drums
  • JP Plunier- drums
  • Jordan Richardson – drums
  • Oliver Francis Charles- drums
  • Leon Mobley- percussion
  • Alyssa Park, Joel Pargman, Patrick Rosalez, Brett Banducci, Timothy Loo – strings
  • Charlie Musselwhite- backing vocals
  • Scott Thomas, Ellen Harper, Sue Chase, Michelle Griepentrog, Jennifer Ohrstrom, Natasha Cockrell – backing vocals
  • Danny Kalb – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Ben Harper, except where noted.


  1. Morning Yearning
  2. Waiting for You – Ben Harper, Michael Ward
  3. Picture in a Frame – Ben Harper, Michael Ward, Juan Nelson, Oliver Charles, Jason Yates, Leon Mobley
  4. Never Leave Lonely Alone
  5. Sweet Nothing Serenade
  6. Reason to Mourn
  7. More Than Sorry – Ben Harper, Danny Kalb
  8. Cryin’ Won’t Help You Now
  9. Happy Everafter in Your Eyes


  1. Better Way
  2. Both Sides of the Gun
  3. Engraved Invitation
  4. Black Rain – Ben Harper, Jason Yates
  5. Gather ‘Round the Stone
  6. Please Don’t Talk About Murder While I’m Eating
  7. Get It Like You Like It
  8. The Way You Found Me
  9. Serve Your Soul

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.