Gil Scott-Heron & Brian Jackson: 1980

In February 1980, “Arista” label released “1980”, album by Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson. It was recorded August – October 1979, and was produced by Malcolm Cecil, Brian Jackson and Gil Scott-Heron.


  • Brian Jackson – acoustic piano, electric piano, keyboard bass, synthesizer, O.N.T.O. synthesizer, drums, kettle drums, backing vocals, arrangements
  • Gil Scott-Heron – lead vocals
  • Marlo Henderson– guitar
  • Ed Brady – guitar
  • Harvey Mason– drums
  • Gordon Goodwin– horns
  • Denis Sirias – horns
  • Bill Watrous– horns
  • Carl Cornwell – flute, saxophone
  • Marti McCall – backing vocals
  • Julia Waters – backing vocals
  • Maxine Waters Waddell – backing vocals
  • Malcolm Cecil– engineer, mixing
  • Ron Kellum – art direction
  • Donn Davenport – art direction
  • John Ford – cover photo

Track listing:

All tracks by Gil Scott-Heron, except where noted.

  1. Shut ‘Um Down
  2. Alien (Hold On to Your Dreams)
  3. Willing
  4. Corners – lyrics by Gil Scott-Heron, music by Brian Jackson
  5. 1980
  6. Push Comes to Shove
  7. Shah MOT (The Shah Is Dead/Checkmate)
  8. Late Last Night

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.