In December 1993.

In December 1993, “Black Saint” label released “Five Chord Stud”, the 14th Julius Hemphill album. It was recorded November 18 and 19, 1993, at “Sear Sound” in New York City and was produced by Julius Hemphill.


  • Julius Hemphill- conductor, composer
  • Tim Berne- alto saxophone
  • Marty Ehrlich- soprano and alto saxophone
  • Sam Furnace- soprano and alto saxophone
  • James Carter- tenor saxophone
  • Andrew White- tenor saxophone
  • Fred Ho- baritone saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Julius Hemphill

  1. Band Theme
  2. Critical
  3. Shorty
  4. Mirrors
  5. Five Chord Stud
  6. The Moat and the Bridge
  7. Georgia Blue
  8. Flush
  9. Spiritual Chairs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.