On April 5, 1988.

On April 5, 1988, “Virgin” label released “Conscious Party”, the third Ziggy Marley & The Melody Makers album. It was recorded 1987 – 1988, at “Sigma Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Chris Frantz and Tina Weymouth. In 1989, “Conscious Party” won “Grammy Award” for Best Reggae album.


  • Ziggy Marley- buitar, lead and background vocals
  • Rita Marley- background Vocals
  • Jerry Harrison- Hammond organ
  • Cedella Marley – background vocals
  • Mulu Gessesse – guitar
  • Zeleke Gessesse – bass
  • Stephen Marley– lead and background vocals
  • Dereje Makonnen – keyboards
  • Sharon Marley Pendergast – background vocals
  • Lenny Pickett- clarinet, piccolo, saxophone, contrabass
  • Gary Pozner – keyboards
  • Melaku Retta – keyboards
  • Keith Richards- lead guitar
  • Mark Roule – tambourine
  • Asrat Aemro Selassie – percussion, bongos, conga, tambourine, background vocals, vibraslap, cabassa, wood block
  • Earl “Chinna” Smith- guitar
  • Raphael W’Mariam – drums, timbales
  • Franklyn “Bubbler” Waul – keyboards
  • Laura Weymouth – background vocals
  • Tina Weymouth- background vocals
  • Glenn Rosenstein – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Ziggy Marley except where noted

  1. Conscious Party
  2. Lee and Molly
  3. Tomorrow People
  4. New Love
  5. Tumblin’ Down – Tyrone Downie, Ziggy Marley
  6. We a Guh Some Weh
  7. A Who a Say – Ziggy Marley, Steve Marley
  8. Have You Ever Been to Hell
  9. We Propose
  10. What’s True
  11. Dreams of Home



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.