In September 1975.

In September 1975, “A&M” label released “The Car Over the Lake Album”, the third  Ozark Mountain Daredevils album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Quadrafonic Sound Studios” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by David Anderle.


  • Buddy Brayfield- piano, electric piano, organ, oboe
  • Weldon Myrick – pedal steel guitar
  • Randle Chowning- guitars, mandolin, harp
  • John Dillon – guitars, mandolin, harp
  • Mike Granda- bass
  • Larry Lee- drums acoustic guitar, synthesizer
  • Steve Cash- harp
  • Farrell Morris – orchestra bells
  • Nancy Blake – cello
  • Marty Lewis – recording
  • Kent Nebergall – recording assistant
  • Doug Sax – mastering
  • Art direction: Roland Young
  • Chuck Beeson – design
  • Murv Jacob – illustrations
  • Stan Evenson – lettering
  • Jim Mayfield, Billy Higgins. Kansas Film Works, Jeremy Parkin – photography

Track listing:

  1. Keep On Churnin’ – John Dillon
  2. If I Only Knew – Larry Lee, Steve Cash
  3. Leatherwood – Randle Chowning
  4. Cobblestone Mountain – Steve Cash
  5. Powell – Larry Lee
  6. Gypsy Forest – Randle Chowning, Steve Cash
  7. Thin Ice – Randle Chowning, Steve Cash
  8. From Time to Time – Larry Lee, John Dillon
  9. Southern Cross – Steve Cash, John Dillon
  10. Out on the Sea – John Dillon, Elizabeth Anderson
  11. Whippoorwill – Randle Chowning

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.