In September 1974.

In September 1974, “Grunt” label released “Dragon Fly”, the debut Jefferson Starship album (credited to Grace Slick, Paul Kantner and Jefferson Starship). It was recorded in July 1974, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Larry Cox, Grace Slick, Papa John Creach, Craig Chaquico, Paul Kantner, David Freiberg, Pete Sears and John Barbata.


  • Grace Slick– vocals, piano
  • Marty Balin– lead vocals
  • Papa John Creach– electric violin
  • Craig Chaquico– lead guitar
  • Paul Kantner– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • David Freiberg– vocals, keyboards, piano, organ, bass
  • Pete Sears– bass, piano, harpsichord, organ
  • John Barbata– drums, percussion
  • Larry Cox – engineer
  • Steve Mantoani – engineer
  • Paul Dowell – amp consultant
  • Acy Lehman, Frank Mulvey – art director
  • Peter Lloyd – illustration
  • Pat Leraci (Maurice) – production coordinator

Track listing:

  1. Ride the Tiger – Byong Yu, Grace Slick, Paul Kantner
  2. That’s for Sure – Jerry Gallup
  3. Be Young You – Grace Slick
  4. Caroline – Marty Balin
  5. Devil’s Den – Grace Slick
  6. Come to Life – Robert Hunter
  7. All Fly Away – Tom Pacheco
  8. Hyperactive – Grace Slick

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.