In August 1972.

In August 1972, “Flying Dutchman” label released “Free Will”, the second Gil Scott-Heron studio album. It was recorded in March 1972, at “RCA Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Gil Scott-Heron– vocals
  • Horace Ott– conductor, arranger
  • Brian Jackson– acoustic and electric pianos, vocals, flute, bells
  • Gerald Jemmott– bass
  • Pretty Purdie– drums
  • Eddie Knowles, Charles Saunders – percussion
  • David Spinozza– guitar
  • Hubert Laws– flute, piccolo
  • Bob Simpson – mixing
  • Charles Stewart – cover photo

Track listing:

  1. Free Will – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  2. The Middle of Your Day – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  3. The Get Out of the Ghetto Blues – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  4. Speed Kills – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  5. Did You Hear What They Said? – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  6. The King Alfred Plan – Gil Scott-Heron
  7. No Knock – Gil Scott-Heron
  8. Wiggy – Gil Scott-Heron
  9. Ain’t No New Thing – Gil Scott-Heron
  10. Billy Green Is Dead – Gil Scott-Heron
  11. Sex Education: Ghetto Style – Gil Scott-Heron
  12. … And Then He Wrote Meditations – Gil Scott-Heron

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.