In August 1972.

In August 1972, “Philadelphia International” label released “I Miss You”, the debut Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Sigma Sound Studios” in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and was produced by Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff.


  • Harold Melvin, Teddy Pendergrass, Bernard Wilson, Lawrence Brown, Lloyd Parks– vocals
  • Leon Huff– piano
  • Leonard Pakula – organ
  • Ronnie Baker– bass
  • Earl Young– drums
  • Norman Harris, Roland Chambers, Bobby Eli– guitar
  • Larry Washington – congas, bongos
  • Vince Montana– vibraphone
  • Don Renaldo and his Strings – strings
  • Sam Reed and his Horns – horns

Track listing:

All tracks by Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff, except where noted.

  1. I Miss You
  2. Ebony Woman (Morris Bailey)
  3. Yesterday I Had the Blues
  4. If You Don’t Know Me by Now
  5. Be for Real – Leon Huff, Cary Gilbert, Kenneth Gamble
  6. Let Me into Your World – Kenneth Gamble, Norman Harris, Allan Felder
  7. Let It Be You

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.