In July 1985.

In July 1985, “Mercury” label released “No Guru, No Method, No Teacher”, the sixteenth Van Morrison album. It was recorded in 1985, at “Studio D & Record Plant” in Sausalito, California, “Townhouse Studios” in London, and was produced by Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison – vocals, guitar
  • Jef Labes- piano, synthesizer, string arrangement
  • Chris Michie- guitar
  • John Platania- guitar
  • David Hayes- bass
  • Baba Trunde (Babatunde Lea) – drums
  • Richie Buckley – soprano and tenor saxophone
  • Martin Drover – trumpet
  • Kate St. John- cor anglais, oboe
  • Teressa “Terry” Adams – cello, string section leader
  • Joseph Edelberg – violin
  • John Tenney – violin
  • Rebecca Sebring – viola
  • Nadine Cox – harp
  • June Boyce – backing vocals
  • Rosie Hunter – backing vocals
  • Bianca Thornton, Jeanie Tracy- backing vocals
  • Mick Glossop, Jim Stern – engineer
  • Lenette Viegas – engineer assistant

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison.

  1. Got to Go Back
  2. Oh the Warm Feeling
  3. Foreign Window
  4. A Town Called Paradise
  5. In the Garden
  6. Tir Na Nog
  7. Here Comes the Knight
  8. Thanks for the Information
  9. One Irish Rover
  10. Ivory Tower

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.