In July 1981.

In July 1981, “MCA” label released “Freetime”, the fifth Spyro Gyra album. It was recorded in 1981, and was produced by Jay Beckenstein and Richard Calandra.


  • Jay Beckenstein– saxophones, clay flute, percussion
  • Tom Schuman– keyboards
  • Jeremy Wall– keyboards
  • Chet Catallo– guitar
  • John Tropea– guitar
  • Dave Samuels– vibraphone, marimba
  • Eli Konikoff – drums
  • Gerardo Velez– percussion
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet
  • Rob Mounsey– synthesizer, backing vocals
  • Richard Tee– keyboards
  • Steve Khan– guitar
  • Will Lee– bass, backing vocals
  • David Darling– cello
  • Errol “Crusher” Bennett – percussion
  • Valerie Simpson, Casey Cysick– backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Freetime – Tom Schuman, Eli Konikoff
  2. Telluride – Jay Beckenstein
  3. Summer Strut – Jeremy Wall
  4. Elegy for Trane – Jeremy Wall
  5. Pacific Sunrise – Tom Schuman
  6. Amber Dream – Jay Beckenstein
  7. String Soup – Jim Kurzdorfer



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.