On July 23, 2001.

On July 23, 2001, “Epic” label released “Rings Around the World”, the fifth Super Furry Animals studio album. It was recorded April – September 2000, at “Monnow Valley Studios” in Rockfield, Monmouthshire, and “Bearsville Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Chris Shaw, Gruff Rhys, Huw Bunford, Guto Pryce, Cian Ciaran and Dafydd Leuan. “Mojo” magazine voted “Rings Around the World” album of year 2001.


  • Gruff Rhys– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica
  • Huw Bunford– lead guitar, pedal steel guitar, backing vocals
  • Cian Ciaran– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Guto Pryce– bass guitar
  • Dafydd Leuan – drums, backing vocals
  • Kris Jenkins – percussion
  • John Cale– piano
  • Osian Gwynedd – piano
  • Matt Sibley – saxophone
  • Gary Alesbrook – trumpet
  • Tony Robinson – trumpet, flugel horn, trombone
  • John Telfer – flute
  • Howard Gott, Harriet Harris, Sally Herbert, Steven Hussey, Jackie Norrie – violin
  • Sonia Slany, Lucy Theo, Brian Wright – violin
  • Nick Barr, Sophia Sirota, Clare Smith – viola
  • Nick Cooper, Sophie Harris – cello
  • Beti Rhys – harp
  • Anna Smith – backing vocals
  • Paul McCartney– carrot and celery

Track listing:

All tracks by Chris Shaw, Gruff Rhys, Huw Bunford, Guto Pryce, Cian Ciaran and Dafydd Leuan, except where noted.

    1. Alternate Route to Vulcan Street
    2. Sidewalk Serfer Girl
    3. (Drawing) Rings Around the World
    4. It’s Not the End of the World?
    5. Receptacle for the Respectable
    6. (A) Touch Sensitive – contains a sample of “Ann” by Dave Alexander
    7. Shoot Doris Day
    8. Miniature
    9. No Sympathy
    10. Juxtapozed with U
    11. Presidential Suite
    12. Run! Christian, Run!
    13. Fragile Happiness

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.