On June 26, 2000.

On June 26, 2000, “XL” label released “The Hour of Bewilderbeast”, the debut Badly Drawn Boy studio album. It was recorded in 2000, and was produced by Badly Drawn Boy, Gary Wilkinson, Joe Robinson and Ken Nelson. “The Hour of Bewilderbeast” won the 2000 “Mercury Prize”.


  • Badly Drawn Boy (Damon Gough) – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, slide guitar, bass guitar, piano, keyboards, drum machine,  tambourine, harp, handclaps, whistling, harmonica, Wurlitzer electric piano, keyboards,  organ, drum machine organs, percussion, crash cymbal,  vibraphone, xylophone,  sound effects, string arrangements
  • Jez Williams– slide and electric guitar
  • Matt Wardle – vocals, piano, organ, synthesizer, keyboards
  • Martin Rebelski– Wurlitzer electric piano, clavinet, keyboards
  • Gary Wilkinson – keyboards, drum programming, sirens, noises
  • Jimi Goodwin– bass
  • Sam Morris – bass, keyboards, French horn, handclaps
  • Andy Votel– drum programming, effects, piano, keyboards, strings samples, samples
  • Ian Smith – drums, electric guitar, percussion, vibraphone, handclaps
  • Sean Kelly – drums, handclaps
  • Spencer Birtwhistle – drums
  • Adrian Dacre – drums
  • Joe Robinson – drum programming, loops, theremin, effects, sound effects
  • Andy Williams– drums
  • Sophie Williams – handclaps
  • Ian Rainford – handclaps
  • Derrick Santini – handclaps
  • Northern New Orleans Brass Band – horns
  • Matt McGeever – cello, handclaps
  • Paul Taylor – string arrangements
  • Clare Hewitt – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Badly Drawn Boy (Damon Gough).

  1. The Shining
  2. Everybody’s Stalking
  3. Bewilder
  4. Fall in a River
  5. Camping Next to Water
  6. Stone on the Water
  7. Another Pearl
  8. Body Rap
  9. Once Around the Block
  10. This Song
  11. Bewilderbeast
  12. Magic in the Air
  13. Cause a Rockslide
  14. Pissing in the Wind
  15. Blistered Heart
  16. Disillusion
  17. Say It Again
  18. Epitaph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.