In May 1988.

In May 1988, “Mute” label released “A Bell Is a Cup… Until It Is Struck”, the fifth Wire  studio album. It was recorded in December 1987, and at “Preußen Tonstudio” in Berlin, and was produced by Gareth Jones.


  • Colin Newman – vocal, guitars
  • Bruce Gilbert – guitar
  • Graham Lewis – vocals, bass
  • Robert Gotobed – drums

Track listing:

All tracks byBruce Gilbert, Robert Gotobed, Graham Lewis and Colin Newman.

  1. Silk Skin Paws
  2. The Finest Drops
  3. The Queen of Ur and the King of Um
  4. Free Falling Divisions
  5. It’s a Boy
  6. Boiling Boy
  7. Kidney Bingos
  8. Come Back in Two Halves
  9. Follow the Locust
  10. A Public Place

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.