In March 1981.

In March 1981, “EMI” label released “Solid Gold” the second Gang of Four album. It was recorded in January 1981, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Jimmy Douglass, Dave Allen, Hugo Burnham, Andrew Gill and Jon King.


  • Andy Gill – vocals, guitar, design
  • Jon King – vocals, design
  • Dave Allen – vocals, bass
  • Hugo Burnham – vocals, drums
  • Jimmy Douglass – engineer
  • Keit Breeden – layout

Track listing:

All lyrics by Jon King, all music by Andy Gill, Jon King, Dave Allen and Hugo Burnham, except where noted.

  1. Paralysed – Andy Gill, Jon King
  2. What We All Want
  3. If I Could Keep it for Myself
  4. Outside the Trains Don’t Run on Time
  5. Why Theory – lyrics Andy Gill, Jon King
  6. Cheeseburger – lyrics Andy Gill, Jon King
  7. The Republic – music Andy Gill
  8. In the Ditch
  9. A Hole in the Wallet – music Andy Gill
  10. He’d Send in the Army – lyrics Andy Gill, Jon King

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.