In January 1975.


In January 1975, “Arista” label released “The First Minute of a New Day”, the fifth Gil Scott-Heron album, and the first one with Brian Jackson.It was recorded June- July 1974, at “D&B Sound” in Silver Spring, Maryland, and was produced by Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson.


  • Gil Scott-Heron– vocals, piano, electric piano, guitar
  • Brian Jackson– synthesizer, keyboards, flute, vocals
  • Bilal Sunni Ali – flute, harmonica, saxophone
  • Danny Bowens – bass
  • Eddie Knowles – percussion, conga
  • Barnett Williams – percussion
  • Victor Brown – percussion, vocals
  • Charlie Saunders – congas, drums
  • Bob Adams – drums
  • Victor Bowens – tambourine, vocals, bells
  • Jose Williams – engineer, production assistance
  • David Lau – artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson, except where noted.

  1. Offering
  2. The Liberation Song (Red, Black and Green)
  3. Must Be Something – Brian Jackson, Danny Bowens, Gill Scott-Heron, Bob Adams
  4. Ain’t No Such Thing As Superman – Gill Scott-Heron
  5. Pardon Our Analysis (We Beg Your Pardon)
  6. Guerilla – Gill Scott-Heron
  7. Winter in America – Gill Scott-Heron
  8. Western Sunrise – Bilal Sunny Ali
  9. Alluswe



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s