On October 8, 1971.


On October 8, 1971, “United Artists” label released “In Search of Space” the second Hawkwind, studio album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by George Chkiantz, Dave Brock, Nik Turner, Del Dettmar, Michael davies, Dik Mik, Dave Anderson, and Terry Ollis.  Graphic artist Barney Bubbles titled the album and designed the cover with space-age poet Robert Calvert produced the accompanying 24-page “The Hawkwind Log” with photos by Phil Franks.


  • Dave Brock– vocals, electric guitar, 6 and 12 string acoustic guitars, harmonica, audio generator
  • Nik Turner– vocals, alto saxophone, flute, audio generator
  • Del Dettmar– synthesizer
  • Dik Mik (Michael Davies) – audio generator
  • Dave Anderson– bass guitar, acoustic and electric guitars
  • Terry Ollis– drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. You Shouldn’t Do That – Nik Turner, Dave Brock
  2. You Know You’re Only Dreaming – Dave Brock
  3. Master of the Universe – Nik Turner, Dave Brock
  4. We Took the Wrong Step Years Ago – Dave Brock
  5. Adjust Me – Dave Brock, Nik Turner, Del Dettmar, Michael Davies, Dave Anderson, Terry Ollis
  6. Children of the Sun – Nik Turner, Dave Anderson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.