On October 3, 1977.


On October 3, 1977, “Jet” label released “Out of the Blue” the seventh Electric Light Orchestra (ELO) studio album. It was recorded May – August 1977, at “Musicland Studios” in Munich, and was produced by Jeff Lynne.  The album was certified Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Jeff Lynne– lead and backing vocals, lead, rhythm and slide guitars, Wurlitzer electric piano, Minimoog
  • Kelly Groucutt– co-lead and backing vocals, bass guitar, percussion
  • Richard Tandy– piano, electric piano, ARP 2600, Minimoog, Polymoog, ARP Omni, ARP Odyssey, clavinet, SLM Concert Spectrum, Mellotron , sequencers,  electric guitar
  • Bev Bevan– drums , Rototoms, cymbals, drumsticks,  drumheads,  gong, percussion, fire extinguisher, backing vocals
  • Mik Kaminski– violin
  • Hugh McDowell– cello
  • Melvyn Gale– cello, jangle
  • Mack– engineer
  • Jeff Lynne, Richard Tandy– orchestral and choral arrangements
  • Louis Clark – conductor, orchestral and choral arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Jeff Lynne.

  1. Turn to Stone
  2. It’s Over
  3. Sweet Talkin’ Woman
  4. Across the Border
  5. Night in the City
  6. Starlight
  7. Jungle
  8. Believe Me Now
  9. Steppin’ Out
  10. Standin’ in the Rain
  11. Big Wheels
  12. Summer and Lightning
  13. Blue Sky
  14. Sweet Is the Night
  15. The Whale
  16. Birmingham Blues
  17. Wild West Hero

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.