On September 25, 1979.


On September 25, 1979, “EMI” label released “Entertainment!” the debut Gang of Four album. It was recorded 1979 at “The Workhouse” in London, and was produced by Andy Gill, Jon King and Rob Warr. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 483 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. In 2005, “Q”  magazine  ranked the track “At Home He’s a Tourist” at number 52 on its list of the “100 Greatest Guitar Tracks”.


  • Andy Gill– vocals, guitar, artwork
  • Jon King– vocals, melodica, artwork
  • Dave Allen– vocals, bass guitar
  • Hugo Burnham – vocals, drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Allen, Hugo Burnham, Andy Gill, and Jon King.

  1. Ether
  2. Natural’s Not in It
  3. Not Great Men
  4. Damaged Goods
  5. Return the Gift
  6. Guns Before Butter
  7. I Found That Essence Rare
  8. Glass
  9. Contract
  10. At Home He’s a Tourist
  11. 45
  12. Anthrax

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.