On September 24, 1979.


On September 24, 1979, “Asylum” label released “The Long Run”, the sixth Eagles studio album. It was recorded March 1978 – September 1979, and was produced by Bill Szymczyk, Don Felder, Glenn Frey, Don Henley, Joe Walsh and Timothy B. Schmit. “The Long Run” was certified 7 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Don Felder– vocals, guitars, talkbox, organ
  • Joe Walsh– vocals, electric guitars, slide guitar, talkbox, synthesizer, keyboards
  • Glenn Frey– vocals, guitars, synthesizer, keyboards
  • Timothy B. Schmit– vocals, bass guitar
  • Don Henley– vocals, drums, percussion
  • David Sanborn– alto saxophone
  • Jimmy Buffett– backing vocals
  • The Monstertones – backing vocals
  • Bob Seger– backing vocals
  • Ed Mashal, Bill Szymczyk – engineer
  • David Crowther, Mark Curry, Phil Jamtaas, Bob Stringer, Bob Winder – assistant engineer
  • Ted Jensen – mastering, remastering
  • Kosh – art direction, design
  • Jim Shea – photography

Track listing:

  1. The Long Run – Don Henley, Glenn Frey
  2. I Can’t Tell You Why – Timothy B. Schmit, Don Henley, Glenn Frey
  3. In the City – Joe Walsh, Barry De Vorzon
  4. The Disco Strangler – Don Felder, Don Henley, Glenn Frey
  5. King of Hollywood – Don Henley, Glenn Frey
  6. Heartache Tonight – Don Henley, Glenn Frey, Bob Seger,  J. D. Souther
  7. Those Shoes – Don Felder, Don Henley, Glenn Frey
  8. Teenage Jail – Don Henley, Glenn Frey, J. D. Souther
  9. The Greeks Don’t Want No Freaks – Don Henley, Glenn Frey
  10. The Sad Café – Don Henley, Glenn Frey, J. D. Souther

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.