On July 22, 1977.


On July 22, 1974, “Motown” label released “Machine Gun”, the debut Commodores studio album. It was recorded 1972 – 1974, at “Motown Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by James Anthony Carmichael, Lionel Ritchie, Ronald LaPread, William King, Walter Orange, Thomas McClary and Milan Williams.


  • Lionel Richie- vocals, saxophone, keyboards
  • Thomas McClary – vocals, guitar
  • Milan Williams- guitar, keyboards
  • Ronald LaPread – bass guitar
  • Walter Orange – vocals, drums, percussion
  • William King – trumpet, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Machine Gun – Milan Williams
  2. Young Girls are My Weakness  -William King, Ronald LaPread
  3. I Feel Sanctified – Lionel Richie, Jeffrey Bowen, Ronald LaPread, Walter Orange, Milan Williams, Thomas McClary
  4. The Bump – Milan Williams
  5. Rapid Fire – Milan Williams
  6. The Assembly Line – Gloria Jones,Pam Sawyer
  7. The Zoo (The Human Zoo) – Gloria Jones, Pam Sawyer
  8. Gonna Blow Your Mind – Thomas McClary, Walter Orange, Milan Williams
  9. There’s a Song in My Heart – Lionel Richie
  10. Superman – Lionel Richie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.