On July 22, 1968.


On July 22, 1968, “Columbia” label released “Super Session”, album conceived by Al Kooper, Mike Bloomfield and Stephen Stills. Bloomfield and Stills do not play together on the album, with tracks including Bloomfield on side one, and those including Stills on side two. It was recorded in May1968, and was produced by Al Kooper.


  • Al Kooper— vocals, piano, organ, ondioline, electric guitar, twelve-string guitar
  • Mike Bloomfield— guitars
  • Stephen Stills— guitars
  • Barry Goldberg— electric piano
  • Harvey Brooks— bass
  • Eddie Hoh— drums, percussion
  • Horn section— unknown session players; arranged by Al Kooper and Joe Scott
  • Fred Catero and Roy Halee — engineer

Track listing:

  1. Albert’s Shuffle – Al Kooper, Mike Bloomfield
  2. Stop – Jerry Ragovoy, Mort Shuman
  3. Man’s Temptation – Curtis Mayfield
  4. His Holy Modal Majesty – Al Kooper, Mike Bloomfield
  5. Reality – Al Kooper, Mike Bloomfield
  6. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry – Bob Dylan
  7. Season of the Witch – Donovan Leitch
  8. You Don’t Love Me – Willie Cobbs
  9. Harvey’s Tune – Harvey Brooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.