On June 3, 1970.


On June 3, 1970, “Harvest” label released “Deep Purple in Rock”, the fourth Deep Purple studio album. It was recorded October 1969 – April 1970, at “IBC Studios”, “De Lane Lea Studios” and “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord, Ian Paice, Roger Glover and Ian Gillan. In 2005, “Classic Rock” magazine  awarded “In Rock”, with the “Classic Rock and Roll of Honor Award” in the category “Classic Album”.


  • Ritchie Blackmore – guitar
  • Jon Lord– keyboards, organ
  • Ian Paice– drums, percussion
  • Ian Gillan– lead vocals
  • Roger Glover– bass
  • Andy Knight – engineer
  • Martin Birch– engineer
  • Phil McDonald – engineer
  • Peter Mew– remastering
  • Tom Bender, Jason Butera – additional studio work

Track listing:

All tracks by Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice.

  1. Speed King
  2. Bloodsucker
  3. Child in Time
  4. Flight of the Rat
  5. Into the Fire
  6. Living Wreck
  7. Hard Lovin’ Man

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.