On June 1, 1974.

Walking Man

On June 1, 1974, “Warner Bros” released “Walking Man”, the fifth James Taylor studio album. It was recorded January–April 1974, at “The Hit Factory” in New York City, and was produced by David Spinozza.


  • James Taylor – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • David Spinozza– acoustic and electric electric guitar, Wurlitzer electric piano
  • Hugh McCracken – acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica, backing vocals
  • Don Grolnick– piano, Hammond organ, Vox humana,
  • Kenny Ascher– Fender Rhodes electric piano, piano
  • Andy Muson – bass
  • Rick Marotta– drums
  • Ralph MacDonald– percussion
  • George Young – alto saxophone
  • Kenny Berger – baritone saxophone
  • Michael Brecker– tenor saxophone
  • Barry Rogers– trombone
  • Alan Rubin– trumpet
  • Ralph Schuckett– clavinet
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet
  • Peter Gordon– French horn
  • Howard Johnson– tuba
  • George Marge –oboe
  • Carly Simon– vocals
  • Linda McCartney– vocals
  • Paul McCartney– backing vocals
  • Gene Orloff– strings
  • Harry Maslin – recording, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor, except where noted.

  1. Walking Man
  2. Rock ‘n’ Roll Is Music Now
  3. Let It All Fall Down
  4. Me and My Guitar
  5. Daddy’s Baby
  6. Ain’t No Song – Joey Levine,David Spinozza
  7. Hello Old Friend
  8. Migration
  9. The Promised Land – Chuck Berry
  10. Fading Away





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.