On May 27, 1963.


On May 27, 1963, “Columbia” label released “The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan”, the second Bob Dylan studio album. It was recorded 1962 – 1963 at “Columbia Records Studio A” in New York City, and was produced by John Hammond and Tom Wilson. The album contains thirteen songs; eleven of them are Dylan’s original compositions. The album features some of Dylan’s best known songs like “Blowin’ in the Wind”, which became an anthem of the 1960s, and “A Hard Rain’s a-Gonna Fall”. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan” at number 97 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Bob Dylan – vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards
  • Howie Collins – guitar
  • Bruce Langhorne– guitar
  • Dick Wellstood– piano
  • Leonard Gaskin– bass guitar
  • Herb Lovelle– drums

Track listing

All tracks by Bob Dylan, except where noted.

  1. Blowin’ in the Wind
  2. Girl From the North Country
  3. Masters of War
  4. Down the Highway
  5. Bob Dylan’s Blues
  6. A Hard Rain’s a Gonna Fall
  7. Don’t Think Twice, it’s Alright
  8. Bob Dylan’s Dream
  9. Oxford Town
  10. Talkin’ World War III Blues
  11. Corina, Corina – traditional
  12. Honey, Just Allow Me Just One More Chance – Bob Dylan, Henry Thomas
  13. I Shall Be Free

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.