On May 24, 1994.

David Byrne

On May 24, 1994, “Luaka Bop” label released the self-titled, fourth  David Byrne album. It was recorded November – Decemebr 1993, and was produced by David Byrne and Susan Rogers.


  • David Byrne – vocals, guitar, synthesizer, clavinet, bells, balafon, lap steel guitar
  • Mark Edwards – drones
  • Mitchell Froom– keyboards
  • Bebel Gilberto– background vocals
  • Bashiri Johnson– percussion, bongos, chimes, conga, shaker
  • Arto Lindsay– guitar
  • Dolette McDonald– background vocals
  • John Medeski– organ, synthesizer, Farfisa
  • Valerie Naranjo– drums, percussion, marimba, shaker, talking drum, percussion sampling
  • Marcus Rojas– tuba
  • Paul Socolow – bass
  • Todd Turkisher – drums, percussion, surdo, sampling, doumbek, roto toms, frame drum, trash cans
  • Bill Ware– marimba, vibraphone
  • Sue Hadjopoulos – percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by David Byrne.

  1. A Long Time Ago
  2. Angels
  3. Crash
  4. A Self-made Man
  5. Back in the Box
  6. Sad Song
  7. Nothing at All
  8. My Love Is You
  9. Lilies of the Valley
  10. You & Eye
  11. Strange Ritual
  12. Buck Naked

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.