On May 23, 1983.


On May 23, 1983, “Tuff Gong / Island” labels released posthumously “Confrontation”  album by Bob Marley & the Wailers. It was recorded April–May 1982, at “Tuff Gong Studios” in Kingston, Jamaica, and was produced by Bob Marley and Errol Brown.  The album tracks were compiled from unreleased material, demos and singles recorded during Marley’s lifetime.


  • Bob Marley – lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Junior Marvin– lead guitar, backing vocal
  • Tyrone Downie– keyboards, backing vocal
  • Earl Lindo– keyboards
  • Aston Barrett– bass, guitar, percussion
  • Carlton Barrett– drums, akete
  • Carlton “Santa” Davis– drums
  • Alvin Patterson– percussion
  • Devon Evans – percussion
  • Glen DaCosta– tenor saxophone
  • David Madden – trumpet
  • Ronald “Nambo” Robinson – trombone
  • I Threes(Rita Marley, Marcia Griffiths and Judy Mowatt) – backing vocals
  • Errol Brown– recording, mixing
  • Michaell Reid – engineer assistant
  • Errol Brown, Chris Blackwelland Aston Barrett – mixing
  • Ted Jensen – mastering
  • Neville Garrick– art direction, graphics
  • Azdean Marley – executive producer
  • Rita Marley – executive producer

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Marley, except where noted.

  1. Chant Down Babylon
  2. Buffalo Soldier – Bob Marley, G. Williams
  3. Jump Nyabinghi
  4. Mix Up, Mix Up
  5. Give Thanks & Praises
  6. Blackman Redemption
  7. Trench Town
  8. Stiff Necked Fools
  9. I Know
  10. Rastaman Live Up! – Bob Marley, Lee “Scratch” Perry

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.