On May 19, 1975.


On May 19, 1975, “DJM” label released “Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy”, the ninth Elton John studio album. It was recorded June–July 1974, at “Caribou Ranch” in Nederland, Colorado, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon. In 1993, the album was certified 3 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy” at number 158 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Elton John– vocals, acoustic and electric pianos, clavinet, mellotron, ARP String Ensemble synthesizer, harpsichord
  • Davey Johnstone– acoustic, electric and Leslie guitars, mandolin, piano , backing vocals
  • Dee Murray– bass, backing vocals
  • Nigel Olsson– drums, backing vocals
  • Ray Cooper– shaker, congas, gong, jawbone, tambourine, bells, bell tree, cymbals, triangle, bongos
  • David Hentschel– ARP synthesizer
  • Gene Page– orchestral arrangement
  • Jeff Guercio – engineer
  • Mark Guercio – assistant engineer
  • Gus Dudgeon, Phil Dunne – remix
  • David Larkham – art direction, graphic concept
  • Bernie Taupin – art direction, graphic concept
  • Alan Aldridge – cover design
  • David Larkham – package design
  • Alan Aldridge – illustration

Track listing:

All tracks by Elton John and Bernie Taupin, except where noted.

  1. Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy
  2. Tower of Babel
  3. Bitter Fingers
  4. Tell Me When the Whistle Blows
  5. Someone Saved My Life Tonight
  6. (Gotta Get a) Meal Ticket
  7. Better Off Dead
  8. Writing
  9. We All Fall in Love Sometimes
  10. Curtains


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.