On May 19, 1969.

Pickin Up the Pieces

On May 19, 1969, “Epic” label released “Pickin’ Up the Pieces”, the debut Poco album. It was recorded in January 1969, and was produced by Jim Messina.


  • Jim Messina- lead and backing vocals, acoustic and electric 6-string guitars
  • Richie Furay- lead and backing vocals, 12-string guitar
  • Rusty Young- steel guitar, banjo, dobro, guitar, piano
  • Randy Meisner- bass guitar, acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • George Grantham- lead and backing vocals, drums
  • Bobby Doyle- piano
  • Milt Holland– percussion
  • Nick DeCaro  – arranger
  • Terry Donovan – recording engineer
  • Frank Bez – phtography

Track listing:

  1. Foreword – Kathy Johnson, Richie Furay
  2. What a Day – Richie Furay
  3. Nobody’s Fool – Richie Furay
  4. Calico Lady – Richie Furay, Jim Messina, Skip Goodwin
  5. First Love – Richie Furay
  6. Make Me a Smile – Richie Furay, Jim Messina
  7. Short Changed – Richie Furay
  8. Pickin’ Up the Pieces – Richie Furay
  9. Grand Junction – Rusty Young
  10. Oh Yeah – Richie Furay, Jim Messina
  11. Just in Case It Happens, Yes Indeed – Richie Furay
  12. Tomorrow – Richie Furay, Skip Goodwin
  13. Consequently, So Long- Richie Furay, Skip Goodwin








Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.