On May 16, 1980.

Devo - Freedom of Choice

On May 16, 1980, “Warner Bros” label released “Freedom of Choice”, the third Devo studio album. It was recorded October 1979 – 1980, at “Record Plant” in Hollywood, and was produced by Mark Mothersbaugh, Gerald Casale, Bob Casale, Bob Mothersbaugh, Alan Myers and Robert Margouleff.


  • Mark Mothersbaugh– lead and backing vocals, keyboards, guitar
  • Gerald Casale– lead and backing vocals, bass guitar, keyboards
  • Bob Casale– guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Bob Mothersbaugh– guitar, backing vocals
  • Alan Myers– drums
  • Karat Faye – engineer
  • Ken Perry/Capitol Studios – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark Mothersbaugh and Gerald Casale, except where noted.

  1. Girl U Want
  2. It’s Not Right
  3. Whip It
  4. Snowball
  5. Ton o’Luv
  6. Freedom of Choice
  7. Gates of Steel – Gerald Casale, Mark Mothersbaugh, Sue Schmidt, Debbie Smith
  8. Cold War – Bob Mothersbaugh, Gerald Casale
  9. Don’t You Know – Mark Mothersbaugh
  10. That’s Pep! – Mark Mothersbaugh
  11. B’s Ballroom – Mark Motherbaugh
  12. Planet Earth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.