On May 16, 1969.


On May 16, 1969, “Regal Zonophone” label released “Unicorn”, the third  Tyrannosaurus Rex studio album. It was recorded November 1968 – February 1969, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Visconti. It was band’s last album to feature Steve Peregrin Took.


  • Marc Bolan – lead vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonium, lip organ, phonofiddle
  • Steve Peregrin Took- bongos,  African talking drum, bass, piano, backing vocals
  • Tony Visconti – piano
  • John Peel – narration

Track listing:

All tracks by Marc Bolan.

  1. Chariots of Silk
  2. Pon a Hil
  3. The Seal of Seasons
  4. The Throat of Winter
  5. Cat Black (The Wizard’s Hat)
  6. Stones for Avalon
  7. She Was Born to Be My Unicorn
  8. Like a White Star, Tangled and Far, Tulip That’s What You Are
  9. Warlord of the Royal Crocodiles
  10. Evenings of Damask
  11. The Sea Beasts
  12. Iscariot
  13. Nijinsky Hind
  14. The Pilgrim’s Tale
  15. The Misty Coast of Albany
  16. Romany Soup

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.