On May 16, 1966.


On May 16, 1966, “Columbia” label released “Blonde on Blonde”, the seventh Bob Dylan studio. It was recorded October 5, 1965; November 30, 1965; and January 25, 1966, at “Studio A, Columbia Recording Studios” in New York; February 14–17 and March 8–10, 1966, at “Columbia Studio B” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Bob Johnston. “Blonde on Blonde” completed Dylan’s trilogy of albums that he recorded in 1965 and 1966 (Bringing It All Back Home and Highway 61 Revisited).  In 1974, “NME” magazine ranked “Blonde on Blonde” at number 2 on its list of “The Greatest Albums of All Time”. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 9 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Bob Dylan– vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano
  • Jerry Kennedy– guitar
  • Wayne Moss– vocals, guitar
  • Hargus “Pig” Robbins– piano, keyboards
  • Robbie Robertson– vocals, guitar
  • Al Kooper– organ, guitar
  • Bill Aikins– keyboards
  • Paul Griffin– piano
  • Charlie McCoy– bass guitar, guitar, harmonica, trumpet
  • Henry Strzelecki – bass guitar
  • Joe South– bass guitar, guitar
  • Rick Dankoor Bill Lee – bass guitar
  • Kenneth Buttrey– drums
  • Bobby Gregg– drums
  • Wayne Butler– trombone

Track listing

All tracks by Bob Dylan

  1. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
  2. Pledging My Time
  3. Visions of Johanna
  4. One of us Must Know
  5. Most Likely You Go Away
  6. Temporary Like Achilles
  7. Absolutely Sweet Marie
  8. 4thAround
  9. Obviously 5 Believers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.