On May 12, 1972.

Exile on the MainSt

On May 12, 1972, “Rolling Stones Records” label released “Exile on Main Street”,  the twelve Rolling Stones album. It was recorded October 1970 – March 1972, at “Olympic Studios” in London, in Nellcote in France, and “Sunset Sound Recorders” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jimmy Miller. In 1998, “Q” magazine readers voted “Exile on Main Street” the 42nd greatest album of all time, and in 2000 the same magazine ranked it at number 3 in its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”. In 2003, the album was ranked 7th on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Mick Jagger– lead and backing  vocals, harmonica, percussion, rhythm guitar
  • Keith Richards– lead and backing vocals, guitars, electric piano, bass guitar
  • Mick Taylor– guitars, slide guitar, bass guitar
  • Bill Wyman– bass guitar
  • Charlie Watts– drums
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano
  • Bobby Keys– saxophone; percussion
  • Jim Price– trumpet, trombone, organ
  • Ian Stewart– piano
  • Jimmy Miller– drums, percussion
  • Bill Plummer – upright bass
  • Billy Preston– piano, organ
  • Al Perkins– pedal steel guitar
  • Richard Washington – marimba
  • Clydie King, Venetta Fields– backing vocals
  • Joe Green – backing vocals
  • Gram Parsons– backing vocals
  • Chris Shepard – tambourine
  • Jerry Kirkland – backing vocals
  • Mac Rebennack, Shirley Goodman, Tami Lynn– backing vocals
  • Kathi McDonald– backing vocals
  • Glynand Andy Johns, Joe Zaganno, Jeremy Gee – engineer
  • Doug Sax – mastering
  • Robert Frank – cover photography concept
  • John Van Hamersveld, Norman Seeff – layout, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, except where noted.

  1. Rocks Off
  2. Rip This Joint
  3. Shape Your Hips – Slim Harpo
  4. Casino Boogie
  5. Tumbling Dice
  6. Sweet Virginia
  7. Torn and Frayed
  8. Sweet Black Angel
  9. Loving Cup
  10. Happy
  11. Turd on the Run
  12. Ventilator Blues – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Mick Taylor
  13. I Just Want to See His Face
  14. Let it Loose
  15. All Down the Line
  16. Stop Breaking Down – Robert Johnson
  17. Shine a Light
  18. Soul Survivor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.